top of page
Sevier County 

Sevier County, one of the larger counties in the state of Tennessee, is bordered by Blount County on the west, Knox County on the northwest, Jefferson County on the northeast, and North Carolina on the south. The county was established in 1794 and covers about 600 square miles. There are three distinct regions in Sevier County, Appalachian Mountain region to the north, Foothills region in the central portion and the Great Valley of East Tennessee, which stretches some 9,200 square miles across Virginia, Tennessee and Georgia.

Elevations in the county range from a height of 6,643 ft above sea level at Clingman’s Dome in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, to a low of 850 ft above sea level in the French Broad River. The French Broad River joins with the Holston River in Knox County to form the Tennessee River. The Tennessee Valley Authority dammed the French Broad River in 1943, which created Douglas Lake.


Although Sevier County is known for it’s major tourism destinations (Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg), much of the community remains rural and filled with active farms.


Sevier County Information

Leadership Sevier

bottom of page