Anderson County

Anderson County, one of the most diversified counties in Tennessee and comprised of five incorporated municipalities and various other communities, is rich in history and tradition. In Anderson County, visitors may gain a greater understanding of early America’s Appalachian culture as well as the early frontiers of science and energy research and development.

Clinton, the county seat, was home to a large fresh-water pearling industry from 1895 to 1936 and the first desegregated high school in the South, which was recently commemorated by the Green McAdoo Cultural Museum. Lake City, previously a coal mining town, is home of Norris Dam State Park and the future home of the Coal Miners’ Museum. Norris boasts of having the first TVA dam, the Museum of Appalachia, Norris Museum and the Lenoir Museum. Oak Ridge, which hosted the development of the atomic bomb that ended World War II and whose story is told at the American Museum of Science and Energy, is renowned as one of the world’s greatest research centers for energy research and development. Oliver Springs was home of mineral springs and a booming tourism industry in the late 1800’s, a rich history of coal mining which began in the early 1900’s, and the nation’s first commercial use of wind power to generate electricity by windmills at Buffalo Mountain Wind Park.

Located in the heart of East Tennessee and originally part of Knox County, Anderson County, founded in 1801, is 338 square miles of some of the most beautiful landscape in the United States. Anderson County enjoys a relaxing life-style amid forested hills with large sparkling lakes and clean rivers. Yet, it is in close proximity to major shopping centers and entertainment in and around Knoxville and Smoky Mountains areas.


Visit Web Site

East Tennessee Regional Leadership 

© 2017. Proudly created with

  • Facebook Clean Grey